Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
modembricker Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 695
Threads: 110
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 37
#1
Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
I fix computers in my spare time and yesterday a lady brought me a 2011 Macbook Pro and she said it was running slow. I told her I would have a look at it and advised her that she may need more ram and such. So basically all I have done so far is upgrade it to Mountain Lion, run disk utility and fix permissions, it seems to run better now but is there anything else I can do?

For PC's I usually use my geek squad disc and that takes care of about 5 virus scanners, malware scan, defrag, and all that good stuff, but is there anything for a Mac that anyone uses?
(This post was last modified: 26-02-2013, 06:53 PM by modembricker.)
26-02-2013, 06:50 PM
Find Reply
modembricker Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 695
Threads: 110
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 37
#2
RE: Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
I would do a fresh install but the dude has too much shit here and I'd hate to have to reinstall everything. He's running a cracked copy of Adobe CS6, would a time machine restore also restore his edited hosts file along with CS6 installed?
26-02-2013, 07:44 PM
Find Reply
ABMJR Away
DOCSIS Genius
*****

Posts: 1,505
Threads: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 77
#3
RE: Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
Use ONYX and there are many features it has.. 1st thing is repair your permissions..

I also have TechTools Pro and like it, but ONYX works great!

http://www.titanium.free.fr/index.php
Knowledge=Power
(This post was last modified: 26-02-2013, 08:47 PM by ABMJR.)
26-02-2013, 08:45 PM
Find Reply
ABMJR Away
DOCSIS Genius
*****

Posts: 1,505
Threads: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 77
#4
RE: Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
P.S\\\

I also recommend an SSD, use Carbon Copy Cloner
Knowledge=Power
26-02-2013, 08:48 PM
Find Reply
modembricker Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 695
Threads: 110
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 37
#5
RE: Anyone know how to run maintenance on a Mac?
Excellent, thanks for the replies, I grabbed a copy of CS6 and am currently grabbing Techtool Pro 6.0.3 from usenet. I dont use my macbook pro enough to have to clean anything out, but since I have learned of these tools, I will add them to my Mac Software booklet. This is exactly the kind of disc I was hoping existed.

I bookmarked the titanium free site too. I once shy-ed away from working on Macs, but once I owned my own and got used to it (being intel based really helped) they're actually quite fun and painless to use.

I'll let her know about the SSD too.
(This post was last modified: 26-02-2013, 11:39 PM by modembricker.)
26-02-2013, 11:38 PM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)