Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
Newb simple questions
i have an SB5101 with version 1.1 Revision 39 of haxorware.
i purchased this modem premoded to learn.

i understand somewhat but i want to know how HFC macs work.
i know we need working macs to get online and i know how to sniff for them.
i know i cant use macs from my town.

Do i need to use a mac from my same isp?
i have time Warner in nyc.

the isp in my area is time warner and the isp in the bronx is cablevision

if i scan for macs in my area from my sb5101 those macs are a mix of isps or are they all time warner?

or does any mac work?

and how do i set witch isp to use. (ex. i want to try and use my sb5101 in the bronx) will it work with the mac i already have? what settings would i have to change on haxorware?

Whats a cert?

i know im a newb but it doesnt hurt to try.
(15-11-2011, 07:02 AM)JayCee14xD Wrote: i have an SB5101 with version 1.1 Revision 39 of haxorware.
i purchased this modem premoded to learn.
premod never a good start

(15-11-2011, 07:02 AM)JayCee14xD Wrote: i understand somewhat but i want to know how HFC macs work.
i know we need working macs to get online and i know how to sniff for them.
i know i cant use macs from my town.
not town, you cant use macs from you node (not the same thing as a town)

(15-11-2011, 07:02 AM)JayCee14xD Wrote: Do i need to use a mac from my same isp?
i have time Warner in nyc.
yes same isp

(15-11-2011, 07:02 AM)JayCee14xD Wrote: the isp in my area is time warner and the isp in the bronx is cablevision
if i scan for macs in my area from my sb5101 those macs are a mix of isps or are they all time warner?
all twc (so thats what twc means time warner cable... often wondered that)

(15-11-2011, 07:02 AM)JayCee14xD Wrote: or does any mac work?
no