Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I want to get back to uncapping
Gentlemen!

Ten years ago, was the last time I had anything to do with modem hacking. It was DOCSIS 1.1 and I was using simple LPT JTAG on SB4200/5100.

Nowadays seem completely different (this is the last place on the web where we can talk about CMH without any fee Tongue)
I got myself a nice DOCSIS 3.0 modem EPC3208 - and I have no equipment/knowledge how to get into it. My old blackcat is useless (because new motherboards don't have LPT), and so is my old serial cable...

I need Your advice on this:
1. What cable do I need to buy/solder to make a flash dump??
2. What cable do I need to "talk" to a console?

What do I want to achieve? Two simple things:
1. Backup
2. Communicate with modem in order to change its MAC and serial

I will be grateful for any info/links/pdf's
Do not expect anyone to answer those questions. Besides possibly users possessing identical knowledge to yourself.
(26-01-2014, 01:56 PM)skyhigh Wrote: Did u even bother to look at the first sticky thread lol or use the search button

Sure thing, I've read the sticky Smile
But unfortunately it's a bit too... short.
Well Yes, it answers my first question, but only partly. It says that i need an usbjtag nt, but it is far too expensive for me. It would cost 6 times more, that i paid for the modem, or cover four and a half months of my internet plan payment Big Grin

I need an advice from semi-advanced user, who would point me out, for example that all i need to complete my two tasks (backup & mac change), is a simple rs232 with converter to usb. Or maybe they would tell me, that the serial cable is insufficient?

I still don't know what those ten years have brought, and what do You guys use right now. I am lurking here, but the info seems to be scattered, and it lacks of tutorials/manuals Sad