Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
EOL
haroldstein Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 155
Threads: 13
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 6
#1
EOL
Got this from my ISP web page. I change name of isp to CC


Heads-Up: Time to Replace Your DOCSIS 1.1 Modem
Options

08-29-2012 11:33 AM

At CC, we actively work to provide a great broadband experience to our customers. As part of that, we regularly increase the broadband speeds for our customers. As a result, customers using DOCSIS 1.1 devices will increasingly be unable to enjoy the fullest possible broadband speeds. With this mind, we will very soon put all DOCSIS 1.1 modems into End-of-Service status -- from End-of-Life. This means we'll actively work to remove D1.1 devices from the network.



We will be sending notifications to customers using DOCSIS 1.1 modems with instructions on the upgrade process. Customers that lease a D1.1 device will will get a new device. Customers that own a D1.1 device will need to replace it.



For those of you that own a D1.1 device, we strongly recommend a D3.0 device to make that investment last as long as possible and to take advantage of channel bonding. Customers that own a D1.1 device can go to http://mynewmodem.cc.net to purchase an approved DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem (or your retail store of choice).



Thanks!

Jason
31-08-2012, 02:43 AM
Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#2
RE: EOL
I don't see how that is an economical move for an isp unless they are very tiny. I can see if you still have d1.0 but not d 1.1 which is what probably 75% of all cable customers use.
31-08-2012, 03:25 AM
Find Reply
haroldstein Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 155
Threads: 13
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 6
#3
RE: EOL
(31-08-2012, 03:25 AM)southernyankey1970 Wrote: I don't see how that is an economical move for an isp unless they are very tiny. I can see if you still have d1.0 but not d 1.1 which is what probably 75% of all cable customers use.

You are 100% correct, looks like the Big Bully wants all control.
And yes, just about all the modems I have seen here are mostly
1.1, they do have 3.0 But I do not believe they have that many
takers at starting at $80 bucks a month or more.
31-08-2012, 03:39 AM
Find Reply
ABMJR Away
DOCSIS Genius
*****

Posts: 1,516
Threads: 16
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 79
#4
RE: EOL
DOCSIS 1.1 have limited tuners that are only TDMA

DOCSIS 2.0 and up allow A-TDMA and more efficient use of the spectrum...

Get a D2 modem and its compatible with D3

Knowledge=Power
31-08-2012, 03:53 AM
Find Reply
haroldstein Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 155
Threads: 13
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 6
#5
RE: EOL
(31-08-2012, 03:53 AM)ABMJR Wrote: DOCSIS 1.1 have limited tuners that are only TDMA

DOCSIS 2.0 and up allow A-TDMA and more efficient use of the spectrum...

Get a D2 modem and its compatible with D3
I see there are a few 2.0 out there, I am tired of paying the 7.00
it has been 1 yr. I could have bought a new 3.0 by now.
If I buy a local 2.0 or 3.0, and if the previous owner owes money,
I guess the CC will not activate it.

Is the SB5101 more of a 1.1 , I know the specs say 1.1 and 2.0, will it work on 2.0?
(This post was last modified: 31-08-2012, 04:35 AM by haroldstein.)
31-08-2012, 04:01 AM
Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#6
RE: EOL
LOL

Jr is correct...i'm tired!

5100,5101,2100,cg814,so forth are docsis 2.0. They want you to get a d3 modem so they can spread the bandwidth load and make the network work more efficiently. d3 means lower bandwidth on each channel simultaneously so it costs less to give you the same b/w as it would on a d2 which is one stream. It makes it easier to load balance available b/w between customers.


It doesn't matter if the modem maqc belongs to a delinquent account if you are adding that cm to a new account. If that were the case they would have to dispose of the equipment from a nonpay account rather than recycle it ...which is what they do. It would be attrociously expensive to do that.
(This post was last modified: 31-08-2012, 05:27 AM by southernyankey1970.)
31-08-2012, 05:22 AM
Find Reply
drewmerc Offline
Prefect
******

Posts: 3,901
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 158
#7
RE: EOL
http://mynewmodem.cc.net is that a legit address as it looks spammy as hell to me
__________________________________________________________________________________
******new discord chat link https://discord.gg/5BQQbsb*******
31-08-2012, 06:24 AM
Website Find Reply
ADDlCTlON Offline
look at my meatwad
****

Posts: 134
Threads: 15
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 8
#8
RE: EOL
http://mynewmodem.comcast.net he hid the isp name for what reason i dont know


more info here
http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Connectivit...-p/1393333
(This post was last modified: 31-08-2012, 06:04 PM by ADDlCTlON.)
31-08-2012, 06:03 PM
Find Reply
drewmerc Offline
Prefect
******

Posts: 3,901
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 158
#9
RE: EOL
(31-08-2012, 06:03 PM)ADDlCTlON Wrote: http://mynewmodem.comcast.net he hid the isp name for what reason i dont know


more info here
http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Connectivit...-p/1393333

thank you makes more sense now, than having a .cc domain
__________________________________________________________________________________
******new discord chat link https://discord.gg/5BQQbsb*******
31-08-2012, 07:43 PM
Website Find Reply
haroldstein Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 155
Threads: 13
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 6
#10
RE: EOL
(31-08-2012, 06:03 PM)ADDlCTlON Wrote: http://mynewmodem.comcast.net he hid the isp name for what reason i dont know


more info here
http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Connectivit...-p/1393333
I hid name, as being new here I did not want to break any rules
by posting the name of the CC. But now I see it is ok.

(31-08-2012, 05:22 AM)southernyankey1970 Wrote: LOL

Jr is correct...i'm tired!

5100,5101,2100,cg814,so forth are docsis 2.0. They want you to get a d3 modem so they can spread the bandwidth load and make the network work more efficiently. d3 means lower bandwidth on each channel simultaneously so it costs less to give you the same b/w as it would on a d2 which is one stream. It makes it easier to load balance available b/w between customers.


It doesn't matter if the modem maqc belongs to a delinquent account if you are adding that cm to a new account. If that were the case they would have to dispose of the equipment from a nonpay account rather than recycle it ...which is what they do. It would be attrociously expensive to do that.
Thanks for explanation!
(This post was last modified: 31-08-2012, 09:44 PM by haroldstein.)
31-08-2012, 09:42 PM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)