Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Change password in Alpha
Wichin12 Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 163
Threads: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
#1
Change password in Alpha
Hey, someone knows how to change the password (alpha101) in Alpha 4 ?? TIA
23-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Find Reply
jerkijuste Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: Change password in Alpha
23-08-2018, 08:47 PM
Find Reply
Wichin12 Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 163
Threads: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
#3
RE: Change password in Alpha
(23-08-2018, 08:47 PM)jerkijuste Wrote: passwd should work
https://www.computerhope.com/unix/upasswor.htm

Nope, doesn't work
30-08-2018, 12:13 AM
Find Reply
ricktendo Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 230
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 21
#4
RE: Change password in Alpha
It depends what Alpha version you are using.

You use 'passwd root' to set the password, problem is this does not create a file called passwd with the password it instead creates a shadow file with the updated credentials... Then you have to copy shadow (dont remember the directory it is created in, check nvram) from one of the directories and rename it passwd
(This post was last modified: 30-08-2018, 04:08 PM by ricktendo.)
30-08-2018, 04:07 PM
Find Reply
Wichin12 Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 163
Threads: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
#5
RE: Change password in Alpha
Rick, i'm using Alpha 4 mod by christianroder but everytime I put "passwd root" I got the message "passwd: not found"
31-08-2018, 01:30 AM
Find Reply
ricktendo Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 230
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 21
#6
RE: Change password in Alpha
You may have an older version of alpha, try specifying the full path to passwd, example /usr/bin/passwd root
31-08-2018, 05:41 PM
Find Reply
capc Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Change password in Alpha
hi guys

im new to this world of using putty and im wondering if you will be kind to guide me on the steps to change the password , im using the test.1a.alpha-4.0 image

thank you in advance for your help or directions to the information tat im looking for

Regards
15-01-2019, 02:36 AM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)